Northfield Energy Committee

The Northfield Energy Committee (NEC) serves in an advisory capacity to and with the town legislative and planning bodies to promote the transition towards renewable energy for the Town of Northfield.


The goals of the Northfield Energy Committee are:

Note: Projects and initiatives to be vetted by other Town Commissions and will be in compliance with the spirit of the Town of Northfield as outlined in the Town Plan.


Please click here for updated information regarding the Community Connections Kiosk


Appointed Members:

Northfield Energy Committee members are appointed by the Town Select Board and serve two (2) and three (3) year terms. The current NEC members are: Ted Fisher (Outreach Coordinator), Gail Hall (Vice Chair), Denise MacMartin (Secretary), and Sarah Wolfe  (Interim Chair/Treasurer).  There now is one committee vacancy.  In addition, Stephen Fitzhugh serves as Advisor to the committee.


Non-appointed members: Please join the Committee to discuss the future of efficient and renewable energy in Northfield! All are welcome.


Get in touch! For more information please visit our Facebook page  (


Related Links:

Green Mountain Transit Northfield Commuter Bus: Schedule and Map; Fares and Tickets

Vermont Agency of Transportation's GoVermont Commuter Page

Vermont Energy and Climate Action Network (statewide network of other energy committees): Website; Facebook page

Save money through efficiency with Efficiency Vermont: Northfield efficiency site


The Northfield Energy Committee currently is meeting the 3rd Tuesday of each month.  Please see the table below for future meeting dates and minutes of past meetings (when available).


March 5, 2019

March 19, 2019

April 2, 2019

April 16, 2019

May 7, 2019

May 28,, 2019

June 4, 2019

July 2, 2019

July 16, 2019


August 6, 2019

August 20, 2019

September 3, 2019

September 17, 2019

October 1, 2019

October 15, 2019

November 5, 2019

November 19, 2019

December 3, 2019

December 17, 2019


January 7, 2020

January 21, 2020

February 4, 2020

February 18, 2020

March 17, 2020

June 23, 2020

July 21, 2020

August 18, 2020

September 15, 2020

October 20, 2020

November 17, 2020

December 15, 2020

The charter members of the Northfield Energy Committee (left to right): Nick Laskovski, Sarah Wolfe, Denise MacMartin, Jane Pekol, and Gail Hall.